I'm really new to this! Blue-grey eyes + cool skintone help

Here's a chance to ask makeup mavens about color selection! You can easily add your picture to posts, and get help with all of your specific makeup questions.
fluttershy

I'm really new to this! Blue-grey eyes + cool skintone help

Post by fluttershy » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:03 pm

I'm a pretty new-ish customer and had a lot of fun trying out some fun colors in my first purchase, but I really want my next selection of eyeshadow colors to work for me!

I have blueish-grey eyes, super pale skin, and cool undertones. At least... I think I do. I am not very adventurous or daring and just like nice everyday looks. I typically curl my lashes and just put some brow cream along my tightline, so no real eyeliner or mascara use.

What kinds of colors or combinations would work best for someone with my sort of coloring?
Attachments
face.png
face.png (267.24 KiB) Viewed 8627 times
shiny

Re: I'm really new to this! Blue-grey eyes + cool skintone h

Post by shiny » Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:54 pm

Welcome to the board!

Our eyes are similar color, but my skin is a little more medium and neutral- not quite as cool. I like to create a very natural, soft eye using two colors with a liner. My favorites are browns, taupes and greens, nothing shimmery.

I use a medium depth color on the outer 1/3 of my eyelid and in the crease for contour, with a highlighter on the inner 2/3 of my eyelid and under the brow. Your eyes aren't nearly as deep-set as mine, so you can probably enjoy more color on your eyelid than I can. My favorite colors are:

For crease and contour:
Eu-taupe-ia
Stag
Danny
Mink (nice for evening, too, and it makes a great liner)

Highlighter under brow and on lid:
Bristol
Restless
Goddess

Cameo, Tru Luv and First Kiss might work, too.

Hopefully people smarter than I will chime in.
fluttershy

Post by fluttershy » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:44 am